CITI celebrates excellence in textile sustainability at Bharat Tex

CITI celebrates excellence in textile sustainability at Bharat Tex
KK Lalpuria, executive director & CEO of Indo Count Industries Ltd, receives award from textiles minister Piyush Goyal and MoS for textiles Darshana Jardosh

The Confederation of Indian Textile Industry (CITI) hosted the CITI Sustainability Awards 2024, recognising and applauding outstanding achievements in sustainability within the Indian textile industry. The event was held on February 26 at Bharat Mandapam at the ongoing Bharat Tex 2024, where minister of textiles Piyush Goyal and minister of state for textiles and railways Darshana Jardosh presented the awards to the winners.

In his address, Goyal emphasised the crucial role of sustainability in the textile industry and commended the efforts of organisations and individuals for their exemplary contributions. He stated that CITI holds a distinctive position, and its leadership has consistently provided unwavering support to the ministry of textile.

The CITI Sustainability Awards 2024 showcased various categories, each celebrating excellence in distinct areas of sustainability. In the Best Practices category for Textile Mills, with a focus on Social Responsibility & Green Practices, Indo Count Industries Ltd emerged as the winner, while Pratibha Syntex Ltd secured the first runner-up position.

Indo Count Industries Ltd also claimed victory in the Innovative Material Management category, with Jeyavishnu Clothing Private Limited as the first runner-up.

Geethanjali Woolens won the title of Best Recycler, followed by Sulochana Cotton Spinning Mills P Ltd as the first runner-up and Kakkar Spinning Mills as the second runner-up.

Brandix Apparel India Pvt Ltd stood out in the Best HR Practices category, with Teejay India Pvt Ltd and Pratibha Syntex Limited as the first and second runners-up, respectively.

Sulochana Cotton Spinning Mills P Ltd was honoured for Best Alternate Materials Use, with Conserve India and Reliance Industries Ltd as the first and second runners-up.

Amann Sewing & Embroidery Threads Private Limited clinched the title for Best Sustainable Retail Practices, with Raymond UCO Denim- Everblue Apparel Limited and Indo Count Industries Ltd as the first and second runners-up.

Kumbaya Producer Company Limited was recognised as the Best Women Entrepreneurs leading Sustainability and Social Impact, followed by Saahas Waste Management Private Limited and 23:23 Designs & Sourcing as the first and second runners-up.

Additionally, B.K. Patodia, Dr. Rajaram Jaipuria, Dr. Krishnaraj Vanarvarayar, and Prem Malik were honoured for their Exemplary Service to the Textile Industry.

The awards ceremony showcased the industry’s commitment to sustainability, with winners demonstrating innovation, dedication, and positive impact. The recipients were lauded not only for their contributions to environmental conservation but also for their social responsibility initiatives and commitment to sustainable business practices. The ceremony showcased the commitment and dedication of textile and apparel organisations nationwide, highlighting their exemplary practices in social responsibility and green initiatives.

Rakesh Mehra, chairman of the Confederation of Indian Textile Industry (CITI), shared his thoughts on the occasion, stating, “These awards are a testament to the industry’s relentless pursuit of sustainability. It is heartening to witness the transformative efforts made by textile companies, setting a benchmark for others to follow.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here